Somewhere Over the Rainbow …

Skies are blue!  And yes, I did feel like a nice big blue, beautiful sky was shining down on us all last Friday when I heard about the “decision.”  It made me feel good … like we finally did the right thing, the compassionate thing, yeah … the right thing.  It made me happy to know that we are one step further along to treating all our brothers and sisters the way they were meant to be treated … not just those in the LGBT community, but ALL who deserve better … and equal … treatment.  This is (in my humble opinion) what God asks of us .. to treat one another (not just those we like or agree with, but everyone) with love, compassion, and understanding.  So, I feel like we did that today.  I’m hoping that this brings life to many, many people who have felt discriminated against or who have been treated badly because of who they are.  As a parent to an LGBT daughter, it makes me happy for her, knowing that this is one more little step forward to having her be treated as any other son or daughter is treated.  We all only want the best for our children and we all only want our children to be treated with dignity and respect.  I’m happy for her and all those in her community that are celebrating this landmark decision.  She is always working hard to bring awareness and advocacy to the gay community and we are really, really proud of all she’s done with this.

Yeah Bubbi!

Yeah Bubbi!

Bubbi and Breana leading the way in the San Francisco Pride Parade for SFCC!

Bubbi and Breana leading the way in the San Francisco Pride Parade for SFCC!

Someone once asked me, “what’s it like to be a parent of a gay child?”  Well, here’s what I said way back then and I’ll say it again because it’s the easiest way for me to “understand” it and to help others “understand” it.  I cannot begin to imagine what it must have been like in the early 60’s when the civil rights movement was just beginning.  I can’t imagine being a parent of a young African-American child who was being bused to a school with 98% percent white children (many of whom were taught to hate by their own fearful parents).  What could that have been like?  Worrying like crazy that your beloved baby won’t be hurt, won’t get spit at, won’t have a rock thrown at them, but yet knowing that there’s a very good chance that this is exactly what will happen … each and every day just because of who they are, who God made them … nothing more, nothing less.  Put yourself in that parent’s place imagining all the dreadful things that “could happen.”  For me, this is how I think it feels to have a gay child.  We know that there are really mean and hateful people out there who could harm her, both physically and emotionally, and that’s a terrible feeling to have as a parent.  All you want is for your baby to be ok.  When they are back in your sights and in a place where they’ll be loved no matter what, then you’re ok … until they leave again.  I’m happy that one day all our gay children will be less discriminated against and loved for who they are … that’s all we can ask for as parents.  White, Black, Gay, Muslim, Chinese … every parent has the same dream for their children and we pray hard every single day that everyone else can love them just as much as we do.  Does that make sense?  It’s simple, but it makes sense to me.

In any event, this isn’t just about her or us, it’s about us as a nation, moving to and learning how to love everyone just as Christ asks us to … it’s not that hard … but apparently it is.  So, I ask you to keep all God’s children in your prayers, and to keep all those who may not agree with this decision in your prayers as well … we all need to move toward one another in baby steps so that one day, we can all see each other as brothers and sisters.  Yep, skies are blue today, with a big rainbow flag flapping in the wind!  Just my two cents … talk to you tomorrow!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow …

  1. Mary Charles says:

    What a great post, Lani! I am so happy for our country with that decision. It makes me sad that our Church cannot see it that way, but someday…As for today, I am sure Jesus is thinking, “They’re beginning to get it, they’re finally beginning to get it!”
    Also – great picture of Bubbi – she looks happy!

    Like

  2. Pup says:

    This post just made me bawl my eyes out momma. I couldn’t begin to tell you how proud I am to be you and papa’s daughter. You have made me into the person I am today and to know that you are proud of who I have become is all that I have ever wanted. I know I am very lucky that I have parents who love and understand me and fight for me and stand up for me. I couldn’t ask for any better family to be in. I love you both with all my heart and this has made my whole year 🙂 I can’t wait to see you both this month and hug and kiss you in person to say thank you. Thank you for your unconditional love and support. Thank you for standing up and doing the right thing even when it is hard. Thank you for acknowledging how hard I work for my communities equal rights. I love you both so much and I am so grateful every day that I have you and papa. It was an amazing day that will live in history and I’ll remember what you have said here forever. Te amo mama 💛❤️💚💙💜

    Like

  3. Joisane Renteria says:

    Beautifully said Lani! If everyone would feel this way!!! Bubbi is blessed to have such wonderful parents. God Bless your family!!

    Like

  4. Chuey says:

    I love this post, and poppyhead and beanie are looking pretty cute out there!!! Love you two kids and my family, we are all very lucky to have each other 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

